Traffic, the unexpected catalyst of dialogue. 

1625541_10205112465357471_7650067833772507985_n

Today I sat on the Perrine Bridge from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm and again from 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm. The holiday traffic was so busy on both sides of the bridge composing a cacophony of horns, air brakes, and road noise. Sitting without speaking made me think about the dialogue rising among those who support the Refugee Resettlement Program and those who do not.

Today the dialogue came to life in friendly gestures and smiles, horn honking, waving and thumbs up.

The discussion also included a few angry middle fingers, and yelling, “let those terrorists stay in Syria where they belong.” Yes, a man actually shouted that at me on his second trip by.

I visited with rim to rim walkers and one group of BASE jumpers.

I listened as an “oldtimer” shared the reasoning behind “some folks'” concerns about the Refugee population in our town .

I prayed. I listened.

And I will be there tomorrow and everyday between now and September 21, the International Day of Peace, from noon to one. I am calling this gathering the #lunchhoursolidarity. I would love your company. I have a bucket of simple supplies to make a sign.

#wewelcomerefugees

2 thoughts on “Traffic, the unexpected catalyst of dialogue. 

  1. Pingback: Champions of the Poor and Vulnerable | colormejennifer

  2. Pingback: Today, I wish I was blind. Truly. So I could not see as I do. | colormejennifer

Leave a Reply

